fbpx

How To Auto Save In Photoshop

Last Updated:

Autosaving your work prevents you from losing important files if your computer or Photoshop closes unexpectedly. The autosave feature is essential if you don’t want to re-do the last few hours of tedious edits you just lost because of an unexpected power outage. This article teaches you how to auto-save your work in Photoshop. You will also learn to locate auto-saved files in Photoshop and on your computer. 

Is There Auto Save In Photoshop?

Photoshop has a function that automatically saves backup copies of your files at predetermined intervals. Enabling this feature can prevent files from being lost in situations like the one I mentioned above. You can lose your files permanently if you don’t use a backup method, like the auto-save function.

I recommend this feature if you constantly forget to save your files or if Photoshop or your computer system occasionally crashes. As you might know, the Photoshop system requirements need a lot of data, and certain computers sometimes can’t handle it. 

When you enable the auto-save feature, Photoshop recovers the unsaved files. This allows you to access them the next time you open the app. You can also find these files on your computer since Photoshop stores them in a specific folder.

However, I advise you against using the auto-save method as your primary method of saving files. This is because when you manually save your files, you have more control over where and how your files are saved. For example, you can choose different locations to save files when you manually save them.  

How To Set Up The Auto Save Setting In Photoshop

To enable autosave in Photoshop, go to Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Win) or Photoshop > Preferences > File Handling (Mac) and look for the “file handling” section. Here you can set the Automatic Recory Setting with intervals to auto-save every 5, 10, 15, 30, or 60 minutes.

Below is a more detailed breakdown of this process.

Once again, to locate the autosave setting, go to Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Win) or Photoshop > Preferences > File Handling (Mac).

In the File Handling preferences, you can modify how and when your files are saved.

You can find the autosave setting on the right side of the File Saving Options. It is called Automatically Save Recovery Information Every:

Mark this option to enable the autosave feature if it’s not marked yet.

The time interval drop-down menu lets you choose how often files are saved. You can choose between saving files every 5, 10, 15, or 30 minutes. You can also set the recovery frequency to 1 hour. 

After enabling the auto-save feature, you can adjust other File Saving Options settings to determine where and how your files are saved.

You can choose the frequency in which Photoshop saves previews in Image Preview. Previews allow you to identify better files saved on your computer. If you select the Always Save option, more storage space will be consumed, but nothing significant.

In File Extension, you can choose between using lower or uppercase letters in the file extension.

You can choose between saving your files in the Creative Cloud or On Your Computer in the Default File Location drop-down menu.

When checking the Save As to Original Folder, Photoshop will save the file copies in the same folder as their original versions. 

Enabling the Save in Background option allows you to continue work on a project, while Photoshop works on saving files in the background.

 Click OK when you’re finished setting your preferences. The preferences are activated the next time you open Photoshop, so restart the program if you want to use the autosave feature immediately.

How To Access Auto Saved Projects

There are a few locations where you can find your auto-saved projects. 

– The Original PSD File

When you turn on the auto-save feature and create a PSD file, Photoshop saves the data in the PSD itself. You can access the saved PSD in File > Open Recent.

The PSD file has a .PSD extension.

– Your Recent Files In Photoshop

You can easily access your auto-saved projects using File > Open Recent. A list with the auto-saved files appears, and you can click any files to load them into Photoshop.

– The Auto Recover Folder

When Photoshop auto-saves files, they are stored on your computer in a specific Photoshop folder. To access the auto recover folder on Windows, use the following directory structure:

C:/Users/YourUsername/AppData/Roaming/AdobePhotoshop[version]/AutoRecover

Include the Photoshop version at the end of the Photoshop.

For example: C:/Users/Brendan/AppData/Roaming/AdobePhotoshopCS6/AutoRecover

To access the auto recover folder on Mac, use the following directory structure:

YourUsername/Library/ApplicationSupport/AdobePhotoshop XXXX/AutoRecover

Replace the XXXX with the Photoshop year.

For example: Brendan/Library/ApplicationSupport/AdobePhotoshop2022/AutoRecover 

By enabling the auto-save feature, you can work in peace, knowing your files are safe from being lost.



Photo of author
I'm a Canadian photographer and photo retoucher turned founder of bwillcreative.com. Around here I help you to decode the mystery of photo editing with no-fluff videos and written guides to help you achieve your creative goals. Outside of shooting photos and my passion for educating, you'll find me mountain biking or on the trails with my dog, Sunny!

Continue Reading:

How To Create Adjustment Presets In Photoshop

Learn how to create adjustment presets in Photoshop in a few easy steps to speed up your work and create consistent edits across multiple images

How To Use The Marquee Tool In Photoshop

Learn how to use the Marquee Tool in Photoshop to crop layers, create basic selections, add selective adjustments, and more with ease.

How To Crop A Layer In Photoshop (3 Simple Methods)

If you're struggling to figure out how to crop a layer in Photoshop, you're not alone. Fortunately, there are a few easy (not so obvious) methods to help you crop a single layer in Photoshop.

How To Use Generative Remove In Lightroom – Complete Guide

Learn how to use the Generative Remove feature in Adobe Lightroom to seamlessly remove large objects from your photos with AI.

What Are Embedded Previews In Lightroom + How To Use Them

Use this guide to help you understand the use of embedded previews in Lightroom along with tips to help you use them in your workflow.

Adobe Lightroom System Requirements For Mac & PC

Here's a breakdown of the system requirements for Adobe Lightroom Classic and Lightroom CC to make sure it will run smoothly on your computer.

How To Outline An Image In Canva

Learn how to outline anything in Canva from outlining images, shapes, text, designs, and more with a few easy steps.

How To Add A Border In Canva (To Images, Shapes & Text!)

Learn how to easily add a border to your designs, images, shapes, and text in Canva using these step by step techniques.

How To Make A Background Transparent In Canva

Learn how to create and export images with transparent backgrounds in Canva to open up more design options and creative styles.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments