How To Make A Heart In Photoshop (Step-by-Step) – Brendan Williams Creative

Discover step-by-step how to make a heart in Photoshop using Legacy custom shapes, and how to save the shape as a brush!

Brendan Williams Founder · Photographer · Educator
Published February 14, 2022
Read 4 min
How To Make A Heart In Photoshop (Step-by-Step)

You can easily learn how to make a heart in Photoshop in a few simple steps. When starting out, trying to create a heart shape can seem tricky. However, creating heart shapes using the custom shape tool is easy since Photoshop has many built-in heart shapes for you to use. 

To create a heart in Photoshop, go to Window > Shapes, click the hamburger menu in the upper right corner, and select “Legacy Shapes and More.” Type “heart” in the search bar of the Shape panel to locate the heart shapes. Click on the desired heart shape, then drag out on your canvas to create it.

Let’s break down how to access these legacy heart shapes more in-depth.

Lesson Summary

  • Step 1: Select The Custom Shape Tool (U) Located Under The Shape Tool Menu
  • Step 2: Go To Window > Shapes To Open The Shape Panel
  • Step 3: Click The Hamburger Menu And Select Legacy Shapes And More
  • Step 4: Search For “Heart” In The Search Bar
  • Step 5: Select A Heart Shape And Click And Drag To Add It To Your Canvas

How To Make A Heart In Photoshop Using The Custom Shape Tool

Step 1: Activate The Custom Shape Tool (U)

First, click and hold on the Shape Tool (U) to open the fly-out menu and select Custom Shape Tool.

Step 2: Go To Window > Shapes And Open Legacy Shapes And More

To access the heart shapes, you need to go up to Window > Shapes. In the Shapes Panel that opens, click the hamburger menu located on the right side of the panel and choose Legacy Shapes and More. The folder will now appear at the bottom of the panel.

Step 3: Search For “Heart” In The Shape Panel

Once the new folder appears in the Shapes Panel, type in “Heart” in the search bar to find heart shapes. This will show you all the heart shapes within the Legacy Shapes and More folder.

Step 4: Select A Heart And Click To Add It To The Canvas

Select the heart shape of your choosing then click and drag on the canvas to create the shape. 

Step 5: Change The Shape’s Stroke And Fill Color (Optional)

To change your heart shape color, go up to the Options Bar with the shape tool selected and change the Shape’s Fill and Stroke Color using the color swatches.

You can also adjust the Stroke width using the Width option next to the Stroke fill. If you want a different type of stroke, go to Stroke Options and choose dotted or dashed lines.

Step 6: Adjust The Heart Shape’s Size (Optional)

To change the size of your heart shape, select its layer. Then, press Control + T (Win) or Command + T (Mac). This will activate the Free Transform Tool. Once Free Transform is activated, control handles will appear around the shape edges.

Drag any of the control handles on the corner of the shape to resize the shape. Drag a control handle inwards to reduce the heart shape size or outwards to enlarge the shape.

How To Save A Custom Heart Shape As A Brush In Photoshop

Step 1: Go To Edit > Define Brush Preset

Once you have added a custom heart shape on the canvas, go to Edit > Define Brush Preset.

Note: When you turn your shape into a brush, you lose some customization options. So, you can’t change its stroke size and shape after saving the brush preset. 

A dialog box will pop up asking if you want to name your new brush. Enter a name if you wish to, and click OK.

Step 2: Locate The New Brush In The Brush Preset Picker

Open the Brush Preset Picker Panel to select your new heart-shaped brush.

Step 3: Use Your Brush As A Stamp By Clicking On The Canvas

Use the brush like a stamp and click on the canvas to add one heart or multiple hearts. You can change the color of your heart brush just as you would change the color of a regular brush.

In addition to the built-in heart shapes in Photoshop, many other heart shapes are available online, such as from myPhotoshopBrushes. Once you’ve downloaded a brush, simply install the brush into Photoshop and use it as needed.

So whether you want to use the custom heart shapes inside of Photoshop or download some free heart shapes online, there are lots of easy ways to create heart shapes in Photoshop!

Happy Editing!

Filed under Tools
Bonus · Free Guide

Enjoyed this article?
Grab the free Photoshop guide.

Every fundamental skill in Photoshop, collected into one PDF you can keep on your desktop. Free, no fluff, delivered straight to your inbox.

Download The Free Guide
Free, forever. Unsubscribe anytime.
The Photoshop Pro Guide